I WAS THERE

I WAS THERE

When the screams turned to murmurs and whimpers, I was there

When sharp swords of shining steel softened to murky liquid, I was there.

When giant conflagration was put out by a pouty whistle I was there

When brilliant minds evaporated into nonchalant winds, I was there.

When rabid blood colored movements turned to lazy daisy hashtag afternoons, I was there

When songs of poetic pride dissolved into a pool of monotonous dance music, I was there

When literature was reduced to a mere 400 characters of daily happenings and backstabbings, I was there.

When surging hope was quelled and defeat has become a permanent state of mind, I was there.

And sadly, when everyone decided they were too cool to care.

I was undoubtedly there.

I wish I wasn’t, though.

-achalcyon

Leave a Reply

